A public project by Packard Jennings and SOEX

This page was created for the project “Lottery Tickets” in 2006. To see more of Jennings’ work, go to his site:
www.centennialsociety.com/durham.html

Project description:
Packard Jennings has hand-drawn “counterfeit” scratch-off tickets for his art project “Lottery Tickets.” As a prize, each “Scratcher” has a unique message that pertains to the experiences and simple pleasures of the local community as told by residents and shop owners. Through short prose and drawn symbols, the scratch-off tickets will direct the participant’s attention to local sites and people’s experiences in the neighborhood.

Jennings’ artist-designed lottery tickets were given out with other Lottery purchases or upon request from few of the culturally engaged stores in Oakland’s Lake Merritt and Temescal districts, and San Francisco’s Mission and Western Addition districts. Each district has its own ticket design and eight unique “prizes.” The intention is to transform an instant of personal focus into a moment of contemplation about the local environment, community, and culture. Ten thousand tickets were handed out.

Santa and Unicorns

Here are the other three lottery tickets…
Bling Bling Cha-Ching!FantasmosBillionair Bootstraps!

This project is a collaboration between Packard Jennings and Southern Exposure Gallery as part of their yearlong “Off-Site” programming.

Packard’s website: http://www.centennialsociety.com/durham.html

7 Responses to “A public project by Packard Jennings and SOEX”

  1. Will Robot Says:

    A co worker just handed me three of of the Fantasmas de ORO! tickets and for a moment I was puzzled and even slightly annoyed as I am not overly ford of the lottery. After looking them over I began to get exited, what an interesting piece of art to fall into my day! I will ‘open’ one and pass the other two on.

  2. D Says:

    I am most taken with the sophisticated and playful images that Packard uses.

  3. MW Says:

    I was walking down the street in the Mission the other day and saw a lottery ticket on the ground. I picked it up as I wanted to see what they look like from this perspective…used and discarded. After a bit of scrutiny, I was suprised to see that it wasn’t an ordinary lottery ticket but a project by artist Packard Jennings. The prize I received was a quote from a local person…could’ve been my neighbor for all I know. In fact, I think a friend of mine was quoted in one of the tickets. Thanks for this refreshing take on the lottery and call to reflect on what really makes us happy.

  4. CF Says:

    The experience of receiving one of Packard’s Lottery ticket’s made me forget about my mundane reality for a few moments and shed light on the beauty of slowing down to consider everything around me more carefully. The far fetched notion of winning money via the lottery was suddenly transformed into understanding a glimpse of someone’s life through a story as a “prize” on a ticket. Beyond that, the wonderfully clever visuals, appropriation of lottery iconography, the insertion of art into a corner store, and the generosity of handing out this wonderful piece for free…. all in all, made my day. Thank you…..

  5. pedmands Says:

    This is a fantastic work. To turn something so common as a scratch ticket into a lens through which a potentially self-centered act can be refocused into community awareness is nothing short of genius. I only wish this was happening around my own community, as I would be sure to collect a few myself. Cheers, Packard.

  6. Hook Supplies Says:

    […] Read More: https://lotterytickets.wordpress.com/2006/10/23/hello-world/ […]

  7. carmaramos99300 Says:

    Ya estu00e1 cambiado, u00bfok?Si es que os quejais por todo. Pretendu00eda ser una noticia breve y sin reventar spoilers y habu00eda que comprim Click http://getl.eu/?i=justgoo100745

Leave a Reply

